meditation: your thoughts? :)

by DeusMauzzim 36 Replies latest jw friends

• DeusMauzzim
    DeusMauzzim

The wtbts always has meditation as a topic on conventions. They always state that eastern meditation makes the mind "blank", so this is a no no.

Of course WE know that it is actually the convention that makes the mind blank :)

So what are your thoughts on meditation now?

Regards,

Deus Mauzzim

• nvrgnbk
    nvrgnbk

I attempt to detach from my thinking mind and all it's "noise".

That which observes my thoughts is my true nature, true essence.

I'm new at this.

I still have problems.

I still find the apparent futility of it all(life) overwhelming at times.

But, it has given me a measure of peace. I feel it has given me a sharper vision of reality.

Maybe, in the end, none of that matters.

• candidlynuts
    candidlynuts

i used to suck at it, when i tried i'd get a vision of winnie the pooh tapping his head going " think think think" and crack up.

what helps me is to have a purpose for meditation, "i'm meditating to relax" " i'm meditating to cleanse" "i'm meditating to clear my mind of clutter so i can figure something out"

deus....my experience above is uneducated meditation, i havent really read much on it. i think the mind can do wonderous powerful things though and there's no one dictating what you can and can't do with your time anymore.. so go for it if it interests you.

• IP_SEC
    IP_SEC

it is not possible to make the mind "blank" If you did that you would not be alive.

A quiet mind is not the same as a blank mind. Meditaion is a higher state of consciousness not less consciousness.

• JamesThomas
    JamesThomas
    So what are your thoughts on meditation now?

My feelings are that meditation is simply being consciously aware. Aware of the experience of the senses, aware of thoughts as mere thoughts, aware of emotions as reactions to thoughts, etc.