Laptop Users I need your help

by noni1974 39 Replies latest jw friends

• noni1974
    noni1974

I'm going to buy my first laptop in the next week or two.I want to know what else I'll end up needing to go online with it at a WiFi hotspot?There are a few of them around where I live at coffee shops and things like that.Do I need a wireless service provider when I'm at these hot spots??

Also what would you recomend I get for use at home?I have a DSL modem that will allow me to have 4 computers pluged into one modem.I want to be able to use my laptop anywhere in my house.What do I need to reach these goals with a laptop??

I've heard of wireless cards and wireless routers.But I don't know what they do or if I need them.I've never used a laptop before I have only ever used a desktop.

• What-A-Coincidence
    What-A-Coincidence

Do I need a wireless service provider when I'm at these hot spots??
    Usually not. If the signal is not hopable ... get .. Sprint Wireless starts at $50 a month or so.

What do I need to reach these goals with a laptop??
    Mare sure your router (the one with 4 connections has wireless capabilities). Also make sure your signal is protected otherwise people like me will steal your bandwidith to fill JWD with nonsense.

• noni1974
    noni1974

LOL You bad bad apostate you.

How do you protect your wireless connection at home??So people like youdon't steal my bandwith??What is bandwith and how do you get it??Will my ISP give me that??How much does it cost??

Will I need a wireless card to get online at these hotspots??The place that I'm buying my laptop from has these wireless cards for $36.00.How many hours or downloads is that good for??

I don't have a router I have a DSL modem that will let me hook up 4 computers to it at a time.All with wires.I think they are called ethernet wires.I don't know.

• Chameleon
    Chameleon

Firewall, and make sure you password protect your wireless router.