I must say that I am very curious

by Grins 18 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Grins
    Grins

I am looking for information on the beliefs of Jehovah's Witness I do not know much and I am afraid that most of what I am finding is biased information one way or the other. I did find a "fact sheet" and I am wondering if all of it is true or not. I looked at the watchtower website for answers to a few of these and so far I am finding them to be true. I am a social worker and have clients who have these beliefs please help me to confirm or deny these.

#14 You are discouraged from attending college

#16 All pastors are the "AntiChrist"

#17 All churches are of Satan

#19 You cannor read Christian literature from a Christian book store

#31 You cannot celebrate your birthday

#32 You cannot run for or hold a political campaign

#33 You cannot vote in any political campaign

#34 You cannot serve on a jurt

#35 You are discouraged from giving to charity (except Watchtower causes)

#72 You cannot support your country

#95 You cannot participate in a school play

These are just a few of the 101. I will not give my opinion of these because I am simply trying to understand the beliefs of the people I work with. Please help me find some answers

• done4good
    done4good

All of the above are basically correct. Some are absolute, others are more of a strong suggestion that one is pressured into. Yes, in the jws, peer pressure is a big problem.

j

• bigdreaux
    bigdreaux

college is discouraged, but, not as badly looked upon as it once was. all the others are 100%fact. these aren't even the scary ones. wait until you really get into it. if you need any help, we are all here to do that.

• DawnLS620
    DawnLS620

#14 You are discouraged from attending college