When is it time to tell your adult children get the Blank out?

by avidbiblereader 42 Replies latest jw friends

• avidbiblereader
    avidbiblereader

To me there is a definite difference in my generation and the one coming after me, when I graduated you basically had three choices

Military, College or a Fulltime Job which meant more than 40 and you were expected to GROW UP, today kids are seen as postponing this for years, it reminds me of the Proverbs 29:21 KJV says

21 He that delicately bringeth up his servant from a child shall have him become his son at the length.

When is it time to push the little birds from the nest and tell them to flap real hard?

abr

• blondie
    blondie

Ask yourself, "when would I have responded to someone telling me to get the blank out?"

• jgnat
    jgnat

Simple, charge them rent.

I come from a long line of Scots, where "growing up" was not an optional course. I started planning when they were sixteen, handing over their clothing and recreation budget to squander or squeeze to their heart's content. If they dressed in rags, I kept my counsel. I made sure they had the TOOLS to make it on their own.

I made it clear, once they were legal adults, they were paying rent. Both children, the compliant and the difficult-to-raise, screamed bloody murder. They even received sympathy from meddling relatives. My daughter went so far to pull out the rental ads. She said she'd "Rather give her money to someone else than to her own MOTHER!" Her needs were simple. She needed an inexpensive apartment for less than $250 a month (my stated rate), including utilities, that would accept two adorable cats and one German Shepherd. Hardwood floors throughout preferred. I let her search, keeping my counsel.

Within a couple weeks she stopped complaining. Real life is the best teacher.

• Balsam
    Balsam