JW start out early making you feel guilty

by MsMcDucket 25 Replies latest jw friends

• MsMcDucket
    MsMcDucket

I remember when they wouldn't give me the Kingdom Ministry because I wasn't an approved associate/publisher/baptised. I started thinking God everybody knows that I am not good enough for Jehovah. If I had of only known then what I know now, I wouldn't have fell for it.

Anybody else remember guilt trips that they used to make people feel like they had to do this or that?

• Honesty
    Honesty

Yep. They made me wait a couple of months before I could get on the APPROVED LIST at the KH.

Then they told me not to study older publications after I was baptised because I would end up BURNING OUT.

I waited almost 15 years before I started studying older publications.

Then I ended up BURNING OUT of their cult:

• Abandoned
    Abandoned

Yes, they do start out early - from the very first study.

I was twenty when I had my first study with the jw. I had never heard of the group before, a fact which my bible study conductor didn't believe. Knowing what I know now, I bet he thought I was an apostate or something. Anyway, the first study I attended was actually my friend's study. He was on Chapter 3 of the live forever book, who is god. (I think, it's been a while)

We came to the point where the book makes the assertion that god's name is jehovah. (I think they capitalized the J though). Anyway, I had never heard that name either and I told the study conductor. He then told me that I needed to use that name or I wouldn't be talking to god. He told me that if I didn't call god by the name jehovah, that it was anyone's bet who would get my prayer (apparently prayer delivery is even worse than mail deliver here on earth.)