Who is God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit?

by sanjanicole 19 Replies latest jw friends

• sanjanicole
    sanjanicole

I am studying about JW, and as i understand it you do not believe in the Trinity, how can you not belive in something that the Bible says is real, i understand that the word Trinity itself is not in the Bible, but that does not mean that it does not exist especially since the triune God is talked about in the Bible...

• choosing life
    choosing life

Where exactly is it talked about in the Bible?

• sanjanicole
    sanjanicole

What about Scriptures such as Matthew 3:16 "...and he saw the Spirit of God descending" the greek words here, according to the concordance, mean an angel, or (divine) God, a deity, the Supreme Divinity God - so where do you get that He is just an IT, and in Hebrews 1:8 "But unto the Son he saith, Thy throne,o God..." again we have the same use of words in Greek, Jesus is depicted as God.

• Undecided
    Undecided

Did God kill himself so he could forgive humans? If Christ was God then that is what happened. Why did he say,"Why hast thou forsaken me." while on the cross, if he was God?

Maybe I misunderstood your view of the Trinity doctrine as taught by so many churches, that God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit is one person. Anyway it's all just a made up story.

Ken P.

• fullofdoubtnow
    fullofdoubtnow

Hi sanjan, I'm not personally a believer in the bible, but I used to be, and I have always felt that this scripture in Phillippians 2 settles the position of Jesus in relation to his father.

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:
    6 Who, being in very nature [a] God,
    did not consider equality with God something to be grasped,
    7 but made himself nothing,
    taking the very nature [b] of a servant,
    being made in human likeness.
    8 And being found in appearance as a man,
    he humbled himself
    and became obedient to death—
    even death on a cross!