PRISON

by uninformed 46 Replies latest forum suggestions

• uninformed
    uninformed

Did any of you go to prison either in the vietnam era, or earlier?

I was in severel prisons:

Mount Lemon, Tucson

La Tuna, Texas

El Reno, Oklahoma

MCFP, Springfield, MO

Did 2 years for draft evasion. Didn't really evade. Just didn't step forward.

u

• candidlynuts
    candidlynuts

uninformed, my dad was in prison in MO and then was moved to west virginia to fight fires in the early/mid 50s as a cons. observer. he spent 4 years incarcerated.

i dont know what city in MO he was in though.

• Dr Jekyll
    Dr Jekyll

Looking back now that you know what a bunch of Liars the WTBTS are would you still do that time in gaol or would you have gone to Vietnam?

• uninformed
    uninformed

Dr. Jekyll,

I have given a lot of thought to your question.

To be truthful, I am not really sure, let me explain.

I was a good student in HS and was given several scholarships, and I had a Senatorial appointment to both the Merchant Marine and Coast Guard Academies.

My father had been a career Navy man and even though he was a witness, he asked me not to embaress him by going to prison.

Anyway, I guess that I wish I would have taken the Coast Guard Academy. But I am not sure.

I have visited the "WALL" in D.C. and have cried there for all the young men that were lost, and all the lives that were damaged. I say the movie, "The Killing Fields" and have felt so sad for the Vietnamese too, and their plight when the Americans left.

I feel a little like a coward for not going, though I have never been cowardly in any other way. I don't think I am a coward, I thought I was brave and honorable.

Prison was all in all a good experience for me. I studied the Bible really hard, reading it a couple of times, but also deeply indoctrinating myself in the WT viewpoint. Probably why it took me until 2005 to leave the org.