Execution in United States Are You For It?

by jayhawk1 36 Replies latest jw friends

• jayhawk1
    jayhawk1

FROM THE AP...

RALEIGH, N.C. - A man who killed his wife and father-in-law pinned his hopes on last-minute intervention from the governor or the courts as he awaited lethal injection early Friday in the nation's 1,000th execution since capital punishment resumed in 1977. Kenneth Lee Boyd, set to die at 2 a.m., spent the day receiving visitors, including two sons who watched him gun down their mother and grandfather in 1988.

My questions are; Are you for or against the death penalty? What was your opinion of the death penalty as a Jehovah's Witness?

As a former corrections officer, I am for the death penalty, but I can understand the oposition's point of view too.

• OICU8it2
    OICU8it2

yes

• Robert K Stock
    Robert K Stock

When I was a Witness I was opposed to the death penalty on the grounds that only God should decide who lives and who dies.

I have changed my mind.

If someone takes a life in premeditated cold blood that person forfeits his or her own life.

The execution should be within one month of conviction.

I would gladly put such a person to death without batting an eye.

• Nate Merit
    Nate Merit

I'm against it. Usually.

• Soledad
    Soledad

I'm usually for it.

• hubert
    hubert

If it's murder, and PROVEN that it's premeditated, then YES.

Hubert

• prophecor
    prophecor

For the most part, as in cases where their is such a heinous spirit or energy attached to the crime. Where the criminal just bathes and languishes in what they've done, where they celebrate the murders that they've committed without even a sembelance of remorse, then I say yes.