New here.

by On the Fence 33 Replies latest jw experiences

• On the Fence
    On the Fence

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting, although I've read for a while. I've been a (bad example of) a witness now for about 15 years. In all those 15 years, I did not at any time have a good friend within the congo. I even changed congos a couple of time hoping that I might find some friends in the organization. Maybe the reason I didn't ever make any good friends is because I didn't go to every single meeting, every single week. I work and have health problems that limit my energy. That's why I say I'm a bad example of a witness. Even though I didn't have any friends (other than worldly, and I wasn't about to give them up), I still felt it was "The Truth" and continued to go to some of the meetings. looking back, I realize now that the entire time I was involved with the organization, I wasn't happy. I did have a sense of well being because of my spiritual beliefs but other than that I was basically miserable. Then, when I became ill and spent some time in a hospital, not one person from the congo came to visit or even called. I couldn't believe it. Friends of my worldly friends, who I barely knew called and were more concerned than anyone in the congo. Talk about a bad witness!! Well, I started drifting away from the organization after that. I just don't see how the self-righteous people at the congo can call themselves "good" when they seem so uncaring. I guess for me it's a bit easier to walk away since I didn't really make any good friends. It's not easy spiritually, though. What have you all done for spiritual fulfillment once you left? I still want to please God and live a good life. I still carry the guilt of not going to a meeting. Thanks for listening, On The Fence.

• Legolas
    Legolas

Welcome to the board!

I look forward to reading more of your posts!

• Marvin Shilmer
    Marvin Shilmer

Hello, On the Fence

You write: