Was Jesus the first creation.

by ajie 221 Replies latest watchtower bible

• ajie
    ajie

As i mentioned in my last post that im studying the book what the bible really teaches,anyway im now on the bit about who is Jesus,now it uses the scripture col1:15 does this prove he was created where it says hes the firstborn.

• ozziepost
    ozziepost

No, it says nothing about him being created - that's a Watchtower assumption that dubbies take to be true because their masters in Crooklyn repeat it so often!

The eldest son in a family i.e. by virtue of being firstborn, had seniority and rights. It's that preeminence that the text is speaking about, not his creation.

• ithinkisee
    ithinkisee

There is a Greek word for "first created" and it was in use at the time of Paul's writing to the Colossians. He did not use it here. The Greek for "firstborn" is proto with tikto which would give us "firstborn" and that is what we find here in Colossians 1:15. The Greek for "first created" would be proto with ktizo and it is not used here.

Interestingly, "firstborn" doesn't always mean "first one born" in the scriptures, and in many translations isn't even rendered "firstborn", but instead, "deserving one" or "pre-eminent one".

As an example:

(Genesis 41:51-52 NWT) 51 So Joseph called the name of the firstborn Ma·nas´seh, because, to quote him, “God has made me forget all my trouble and all the house of my father.” 52 And the name of the second he called E´phra·im, because, to quote him, “God has made me fruitful in the land of my wretchedness.”

Notice who the firstborn here is: Manasseh. Right? But read on in Jeremiah:

(Jeremiah 31:9 NWT) 9 With weeping they will come, and with [their] entreaties for favor I shall bring them. I shall make them walk to torrent valleys of water, in a right way in which they will not be caused to stumble. For I have become to Israel a Father; and as for E´phra·im, he is my firstborn.”