Job Interview-Help with specific question

by Purza 17 Replies latest jw friends

• Purza
    Purza

So, I have a job interview on Monday for a city government job. I have worked for a city before and I would really like to work for one again in order to complete my retirement requirement for benefits. AND I really want this job.

I have info about the job and I am studying specific information; however I don't interview all that well as I get extremely nervous.

One of the questions I always have a hard time with is:

"How do you deal with a difficult co-worker?" (and I know for certain it will be asked)

This is always their catch-22 question as there is no right answer. I tend to say something like all situations are unique and require different responses. I have dealt with one before and I try to set up boundaries from the beginning so that the individual knows where we stand, etc.

As I type my response it sounds kinda lame to me.

Can anyone help with how you might have handled a question like this? Or what a good response would be?

Thanks so much.

Purza

PS I had a difficult co-worker once and the day I left I had a shouting match with her as I walked out the door. Probably not the best way to handle a situation.

• stevenyc
    stevenyc

Purza,

In answering questions like this remember that the business comes first. Never take anyting personally. Work around the issue with the business in mind.

steve

• confusedjw
    confusedjw
    "How do you deal with a difficult co-worker?"

Answer: I do everything I can to make sure I'm not the reason they are being difficult. I bend when possible realizing anyone can have a bad day. After that I trust that their/our boss will deal with it. It's all an employee can do really, but if your department has suggestions for such issues I would be happy to employ use them.