My life is going to have a BIG change soon

by Mulan 28 Replies latest jw friends

• Mulan
    Mulan

Most of you on this board know my husband and I have been caring for my aged parents for many years. Mom is 91 and is in assisted living now, since November, when we could no longer fill her care needs. (My parents have been divorced since 1969 so we weren't separating a married couple, in case you wondered)

Dad (90) told me a few months ago that he wanted to go to assisted living too. I was sure he was missing the companionship of Mom, and let it go. Recently he has been talking about it again, and told me to get things started to move him. So I got the papers filled out, collected all the data they wanted on him, and put his name on the waiting list at the same place where Mom is, thinking it would be a few months. I put his name on the list two weeks ago. They called yesterday with an opening, and there is no reason to turn it down. I had requested the second floor, where the dining room is, and a room facing the front of the building for the most daylight (Dad is nearly blind). The room (a studio apartment) is on the second floor, facing the front of the building, absolutely perfect. I told Dad and he is looking forward to the move now. I am sure he is mainly wanting to give us our life back, but I insisted that he is welcome here always, but he said it was time to move. He is afraid he will need more care soon.

So, in two weeks we will move him.

Dave and I will be alone again, for the first time in almost 41 years. I have mixed feelings but mainly am excited about it. Privacy again. We can skip dinner if we want to, or go places without making arrangements for Dad. It will take some getting used to for sure. Our lives have been revolving around them for so long, it's been like having kids again. Dad was living here when our last child got married, so we have only had the first 11 months of our marriage alone. That was a long time ago.

• copsec
    copsec