Ray Franz's Ex-Secretary Needs Help!

by Janitor 18 Replies latest jw friends

• Janitor
    Janitor

Ray Franz's Ex-Secretary Needs Help!

A friend forwarded me the following e-mail written by an ex-JW. Looks like he is discouraged and needs some help. He left the Canadian Bethel in 1994 when he was 58 years old. He spent decades in Brooklyn Bethel too. He was a well known guy in the Watchtower. He was Ray Franz's secretary, and I believe Leo Greenles' too but I am not sure. He wrote the following e-mail to a few of his friends.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Dear Friends,

I want to let you know that I've decided to get off the internet by the end of this month (October 2002) and I will probably also arrange for my phone to be disconnected at the same time.

I'm almost 67, and I get a very small pension. The pension is small because very little was put into my social security fund during the almost forty years I worked as a full-time member of a religious order. Recently I had some heavy expenses, and it came home to me what a close call it was and, in fact, how much I'll have to more carefully watch my pennies in the future. While we have free health care here in Canada, it doesn't cover dental care or eyeglasses, both of which I'm saving for right now.

Please don't think I'm crying the blues. My health is very good, and I'm able to put in a full day's work each and every day. I'm very grateful to our Lord for that. But being practical requires that I save what I can in preparation for whatever future years I have left in this Old World.

I appreciate your prayers. And if any of you know of a good-paying job for a man in his late sixties, I'd be very glad to know about it. I'm probably able to move to any location within the U.S. or Canada.

I will miss the correspondence by email that I've been accustomed to receiving from many over the years. Any who want to reach me in the future can write to:

Christian best wishes,