One month researching my doubts: my crucial issues with WTBTS - what are yours?

by Tornintwo 27 Replies latest jw friends

• Tornintwo
    Tornintwo

So after 20 years a convert, about a month ago I decided to start listening to my doubts and to do independent research about the WTBTS teachings (naughty me). As a result I have consolidated my position on various points and these are my major issues with the WTBTS teachings, I am posting these to help myself figure things out (with your assistance) and hopefully to hear from others at their stage of drawing away from the GB - ‘newbies' especially. In the form of notes so hope you don’t mind...

Child Abuse

Terrible treatment of child abuse victims, wrong advice to victims of sexual abuse and domestic violence resulting in harm and danger to the victims.
    Not just the odd isolated case, there are many examples and organizational policy is to blame, eg. 2 witness rule, confidentiality, 'protecting' Jehovahs name by discouraging reporting to ‘worldly’ agencies.
    Adversarial attitude to victims who want justice, treating them as greedy and litigious instead of apologizing and seeking to make amends.

Shunning taken to the extreme, parents told not to associate with children, splitting families for decades. Youths are often the victim of this policy, having been encouraged to be baptised as children before they really knew what they were committing too and the consequences - then ironically 'the world' often helps to pick up the pieces of their broken lives.
    Star chamber judicial proceedings (accused not free even free to record), people disfellowshipped even when they say they are repentant (how can humans judge what is in another’s heart?), the long punitive process to be reinstated, not inline with prodigal son account or account in Acts.