Faith with out FEARS is dead....

by Fed-up 11 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Fed-up
    Fed-up

Isn't that the way the scripture goes? It's more accurate, I think.

One of the comments on one of the threads (sorry, I'd give due credit, but can't find it again) mentions someone finally being able to size up JW's as one would any other religion. Getting to that point is huge for anyone raised as one of JW's (and likely any other faith that makes the point of making itself "the truth" as I suppose most all do). I know it's not a new thought, but personally I'm just beginning to see it:

Religions, or as they are often called "faiths", use fear as a threat (passively, as in Hell), as a tool (contribute, preach, believe, do whatever we tell you) and as a weapon (shunning). And it works so well!

How can any so called Christian religion that teaches hell or practices shunning read 1 John 4:18, 19 and continue to do what they do?

John 4:18, 19: There is no fear in love, but perfect love throws fear outside, because fear exercises a restraint. Indeed, he that is under fear has not been made perfect in love. As for us, we love, because he first loved us.

"Perfect love throws fear outside"... i have no idea what "perfect love" means and only an inkling of what love is anyway, but Fear is not and never should be a part of love. And that whole thing about 'fear of god" being a "healthy fear of displeasing displeasing him" never made ANY sense.

The footnote for "restraint" in verse 18 says "Or, “checking; correction; punishment.” Lit., “lopping off.” Gr., ko′la?sin. Compare Mt 25:46 where the same Gr. word occurs." So, 'fear exercises checking, correction; punishment." And that comparison script from Matt. is the icing on the cake! "Everlasting cutting off" is mentioned. Faith or Fear? Love or Fear?