newbie here!

by greven 28 Replies latest jw friends

• greven
    greven

hi everyboby!!
    I am a newbie in signing on for this board, however I have been surfing here quite often. I really like this place so I decided to sign-up. I will update my personal story in my profile shortly. anyway a smaal question I have now: on this board and sometimes the WTS itself refers to a scource as Ibid. does anyone know which publication this is?
    thanx,
    greven

"Fear is strange soil. Mainly it grows obedience like corn, which grows in rows and makes weeding easy. But sometimes it grows the potatoes of defiance, which flourish underground."
    -from "Small Gods" by Terry Pratchett-

• coffee_black
    coffee_black

Welcome! I'm new here myself.

Ibid is the abbreviation for Ibidem, which means in the same place.
    It's used in references so as not to have to list the same specific source again. Hope that helps.

cb

• expatbrit
    expatbrit

Hi Greven:

Welcome to the board.

Don't believe what Coffee said about Ibid. Ibid was in fact a Greek philosopher renowned for plagiarising everyone elses ideas. Coffee what are you thinking?

Expatibid

• think41self
    think41self

Hi Greven,

Welcome to the board . If you've been lurking a bit, then you know what to expect, so I don't have to give you the standard "newbie warning". Don't worry, it's not like hazing or anything. I'm looking forward to learning more about you.

P.S. Welcome Coffee Black. Same to you!

think41self

If I'd known I was going to live this long, I'd have taken better care of myself!

• Gopher
    Gopher

Hi Greven, look forward to seeing you out here!

"Ibid" is, in fact, the name of one of the earliest stock traders on Wall Street. "I bid this amount" or "that amount" were catch-phrases he made popular.

So when you see IBID in the publications, it is a reminder of the Society's vast stock holdings!!

J.R.Why shouldn't truth be stranger than fiction? Fiction, after all, has to make sense.