Paperless society?

by AK - Jeff 14 Replies latest jw friends

• AK - Jeff
    AK - Jeff

With the advances in digital communication, when will society move to paperless?

Nooks/Kindles are making books obsolete. Computer/Internet is making newsprint obsolete. Email/etc is making postal letters a thing of the past.

Not gone yet. Perhaps never gone. But looks like paper forms of communication are going the way of the Edsel before long.

Thoughts?

Jeff

• ballistic
    ballistic

Kindles? Me don't like. Paperless society? Where I have worked, everything gets printed out for legal reasons and stored in archive boxes.

• JeffT
    JeffT

I've been hearing about paperless offices for twenty years or so. I don't think it will ever happen. As an accountant, I want a paper trail (as ballisic pointed out). We can reduce a lot of paper, but it won't go away.

For those of us who really like books, a kindle will never be quite the same thing.

• PSacramento
    PSacramento

I can't stand kindles and tablets for reading, reading is NOT just about reading the letters it's a whole experience.

The smell of an old book, the feel of the pages, the different textures, so much more than "just reading".

And as everyone that has ever dealt with a customer on almost any level knows, a paper trail is crucial.

• LostGeneration
    LostGeneration

Some info is good online, some is better in paper form. For the WT, their main product is magazines, which have been hurt badly by the internet.

Their real estate in Brooklyn saved their bacon over the past 15 years. I doubt they will be able to repeat their past performance with upstate NY real estate, meaning they will have to cut back on their publishing operation eventually.

• Lore
    Lore

I can't stand kindles and tablets for reading, reading is NOT just about reading the letters it's a whole experience.

The smell of an old book, the feel of the pages, the different textures, so much more than "just reading".