Freemasonry and Jehovah's Witnesses

by Hammer_Of_Thor 63 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Hammer_Of_Thor
    Hammer_Of_Thor

I've read alot of posts here regarding JW's and Freemasonry, and so far I've seen the usual conjecture by non-masons, and a few well written opinions of the inquiring minds among us.

I'm a former JW from Texas, and a current Freemason in Houston. My question is:

What specifically does the WTS say as far as Masonic membership. I know it is "strongly discouraged", but is joining a Lodge an offense worthy of having the "John Smith is no longer one of Jehovah's Witnesses" announcement.

Oh...and my apologies to any current or past LDS members; John Smith was the first neutral, very general name I could think of.

Any insights would be valued highly. Thanks in advance.

And for the record, this is my first time posting, so please be gentle with me. And where is the spell check option?

• 3Mozzies
    3Mozzies

Welcome Hammer Of Thor We are so happy you found us here, we are all here to help each other no matter what the question/s.

I don't know much about the Masons & JWs so I would direct you to this web-page for the moment:

http://www.theforbiddenknowledge.com/hardtruth/dirtywatchtowersecrets.htm

Others here on this forum might know more about your question ...

3Mozzies

• recovering
    recovering

it is a disfellowshipping offence

• designs
    designs

Hammer-

The Society has a mixed track record with the Masons. Russel was accused of being a mason but really wasn't, he gave lectures at some of their Halls. Under Rutherford they came out against joining but their is a famous picture of Fred Franz giving a talk at an Assembly and gesturing with his hand, there is a picture of his Masonic ring, you can make out the sextant.

• Farkel
    Farkel