I'M A NEWBIE! My story...

by terafera 23 Replies latest jw experiences

• terafera
    terafera

Hi all! :)

I just came across this site not too long ago and have been reading the stories. I am filled with relief and at the same time frustration mixed with tears, because I have been holding my story in and not sharing it with anyone, except my husband. I have felt many of the feelings expressed here but was afraid to say them out loud for fear of being an 'apostate'. I would not want to make the Society or anyone with good intentions look wrong, but this is my story:

I was born in 1973 in Alaska. My mother had become a Witness 2 years earlier. Thus, my older siblings had experienced holidays but by the time I came around that was thing of the past. My dad was an easy going guy.. liked to party and loved his kids. My mother was an overbearing, strict woman who met the JW's when they knocked on her door. She was intrigued, and started studying. The Witnesses told my mom that my dad had to study too, since he was always out working on the truck during their studies. Being the good-natured fella he was, he obliged and when my mom got baptized, the next year, he did too. I think he had a love for God and doing things right, but it was clear my mother liked the strict lifestyle and rigidness.