Should I register to vote?

by tinker 12 Replies latest jw experiences

• tinker
    tinker

I have been asking myself this for several months now. I have no idea even how to do it. But since leaving the WTBS I have a new interest in the political process. For the first time in my life I feel a surge of national pride. I love being an American Women. We are the luckiest people on the planet. Yes, there are a whole lot of problems but overall the freedoms and rights we are guaranteed are awesome.

So about voting, here is my problem. I know little to nothing about the candidates. I read a little and listen to some talk radio but it all sounds so redundant and repetitive. I do belive voting is a right but how important is it to participate in the election. I can't seem to decide who I would vote for. I like some parts of all of them and equally disagree with some things. I am part tree hugger. part conservative, I can go left as well as right.

I am against the war but then we have not be attacked again since 9/11 so is that because of our strong show there.

The economy, I don't like paying $3+ for gas and the jump in grocery prices pisses me off. But then I also think we are very wasteful and greedy. I own a home, dirve a nice car, gourmet food in my fridge, and designer cloths in my closet....so who's complaining.

Bottom line.....should I vote? Is it my responsibility as a citizen? Or should I want until I understand the issues, maybe the next election?

• chickpea
    chickpea

you have lots of time to study the issues.... the general election is not til november..... all this other voting has been primaries

http://rockthevote.com/home.php is a place you can start to find out about registering to vote or go to your home state's .gov website and search for voter registration