how long did it take?

by mjs mouse, ben 20 Replies latest jw friends

• mjs mouse, ben
    mjs mouse, ben

Newbie here, a lil about me......Grew up around the JW religion, never was baptized but I did get to the level of "unbaptized publisher" once, as of now I dont attend any "meetings", but still get the watchtowers and awakes pushed to me by family members. It's actually been 3 years since I realized that it wasnt the "truth", even though I've probably have known it all along. My question to the groups is, how long did it take you to stop calling it "THE TRUTH"? I still find myself referring to this $$$ making Corporation as "the truth".... wierd huh?

• Leolaia
    Leolaia

Hi, nice to metcha!! And congratulations for discovering the truth about The Truth.

• Joel Wideman
    Joel Wideman

Welcome. It took me a very long time, and it was a gradual process. When I finally was receptive to the real facts, it was a relief.

• blondie
    blondie

They say that if you want to break a bad habit, you have to subsitute another one.

Some here call it "The Lie."

Others all it "Da Troof."

I prefer the first one myself.

Blondie

• Kaylen
    Kaylen

Hi,

I am new here too and have sat around for two weeks until getting up enough courage for my first post. I am raised a witness but never baptised same as you. I am 36 and left when I was 17 and sometimes I still catch myself referring to it as the truth. But it was my questioning of the truth about the truth that allowed me to escape so really the truth did set me free

• steve2
    steve2