They aren't making much effort to bring me back, and I'm glad !!!

by JH 17 Replies latest jw friends

• JH
    JH

I've been inactive for many years, but last March an elder came over to invite me to the memorial. After that he came back and offered a bible study, which I didn't want but stupidly I accepted because I felt kind of pressured, thinking that if I didn't I would be maybe DF'd for some reason.

So, I studied about half of the book with the elder, once a week, and went to a few meetings. I did this also so that I could remember what JW life was all about. It gave me a reason more to not want to live a JW life.

Then in late June, I just stopped going to meetings, and told the elder that I started working out of town and would be absent for 3 weeks. But now it's been 7 weeks, and the elder only phoned once, and didn't come over. He knows that I'm home because other witnesses saw me around town.

I should never have opened my door to him just before the memorial. I just wanted to go to that one and only meeting, but as you know the JW's one thing leads to another, and after one meeting, there's another one, and it never stops.

Bottom line here, if you don't want to be a JW and give your 100%, don't even go to one meeting, because you'll be trapped.

Now, I just hope the elder studying with me, will keep on ignoring me.

• PaulJ
    PaulJ

It cant be easy. I know when my brother started to 'fall away' the elders would chase him down the street!!!

• luna2
    luna2