Lowest of the low taking charge...

by FMZ 14 Replies latest jw friends

• FMZ
    FMZ

Just a quick vent, ignore me.

There has been a project going on at work for 2 months. It was due for the customer by the 1st. The sales guy bought us an extension until the 10th. Yep, today (tomorrow?). There is a certain lead technician on the project that is the brother of my boss. He is disorganized and arrogant. He has taken two months to fuck this project up, and now I have to pick up the pieces. He is a lead engineer, one of three in the building. I am a NOC technician. Yep, lowly phone answerer. Tonight at 10:30 (after a 12 hour shift with overtime) I received a conference call. It was the CEO and our boss. They bitched us out, and Kun bolted. He was pissy because he said we don't need more help to the CEO and I said just the opposite, we need about 5 times more people working on this project. Keep in mind it is due tomorrow.

So there I am, the lowest of the low, taking charge of the phone call. I had to subdue the CEO and my boss, and take the plan from there and tell them exactly what we need.

There were 4 people on this call that outranked me, and not a goddamn one of them stood up.

Anyhow, I have to be in work at 4am, so I gotta go sleep.

Oh yeah. I am stoned.

FMZ

* edited to add * god damn I love a challenge

• confusedjw
    confusedjw

Honestly, get used to it pal. There are about an eyedropper's amount of folks who take charge properly. Welcome to the game.

• Satanus
    Satanus

I always liked that position: the low guy, from whom nobody expected anything, coming in at the end to save day. Better than being head cheese and flubbing it. Tough about the 4 am thing

S

• FMZ
    FMZ

Confused, I don't get it mate. The job needs doing, then do it, and do it in an organized fashion...lol. Wingman :)

Satanus, thanks mate. It's a pretty awesome feeling, but I will reply to this thread at 4:05am and tell you how I feel then.