Question for those raised a JW

by New Worldly Translation 45 Replies latest jw friends

• New Worldly Translation
    New Worldly Translation

I was wondering if anybody feels like I do that if I hadn't been raised a JW I would never have embraced the religion. I know it's easier to say in hindsight after I know the truth about the org but honestly I don't think I would have given them the time of day. I'm not a religious person or even a spiritual person and being a JW always caused a conflict in my mind.

I'm not very good at having faith & trust in things that are largely ephemeral, which is needed in religion in my view. I'm more of a scientific person and like good solid proof before I believe anything.

Do you think if you had been raised as a worldly ? person you would have been attracted to the JW's or any religion when you grew up?

• Sparkplug
    Sparkplug

I do not think so. I have never felt the need to have a leader. I am not saying that I think I am the end all and be all...It is just now that I am not a witness, I really see no need to replace one adiction with another. I just live and try to start my family tree over. I know I am just one person in all of this sea of people over the ages and if someone such as all of the Theologist and suchlike people of the "thinking" mind...could not figure it out...what in the world makes me think I should even try. I think it would be a waste of time.

• Wild_Thing
    Wild_Thing
    Do you think if you had been raised as a worldly ? person you would have been attracted to the JW's or any religion when you grew up?

This is a hard question to answer because we will never know what kind of persons we would have become if we had not grown up in the organization. I know that is true for me.

I would like to think I definitely would not be attracted to the Witnesses because I always examine things closely before I buy in. (I am assuming I would still have this quality had I not been raised a JW.)