Remembering growing up as a JDub hurts...

by misspeaches 13 Replies latest jw experiences

• misspeaches
    misspeaches

You know I've been fading for 18 months now. I come from a smallish city of about half a dozen congregations so just about everyone knows everyone so its not such an easy thing to do. Growing up as a JDub was so hard and awful. When I think of how socially stunted it made me it still upsets me. I began to stop being an active member of the congregation because I was tired of feeling like an outsider never part of the in crowd. I never seemed to manage to interact with people successfully. It didn't make it any easier that mum had an unbelieving husband and was trying to bring myself sister and brother along to meetings and raise as good Jdubs. Being the environment that it is with social standings etc we were never accepted. Not invited to parties and gatherings. Always being encouraged by mum to invite people to our place and eventually they would reciprocate. Theres so many little stories that I could compile altogether and it is such an unjust unloving organisation. I apologise for seeming all over the place but right now I feel so depressed. I stopped attending meetings etc when I was 27 and started rebelling in a big way. I wanted to experience everything that had ever been denied me. I wanted to have friends. I wanted to know what it was like to have a boy hold you hand... It was gradual but now I have some very good very close non conditional friends. I have a boyfriend. Who I love and adore. Who cries with me when sometimes I can't handle the memories of being a JW. Naturally someone has run to the elders about seeing me so they decide that its time for a sheperading call. It was a traumatising conversation but I stood firm and told them that wouldn't be necessary. I know I sound so depressed, but really I am not a depressive person naturally. Sometimes its just that the whole experience gets to overwhelming. In fact since washing my han