Going to my first meeting this morning

by Bug 41 Replies latest jw friends

• Bug
    Bug

HI there I'm new here, my name is Fiona I am not yet a JW and have not started to study yet. I am very interested in doing so but since I am still new to all this I thought I should attend some meetings first. I am going to my first one today at the Kelvin Hall in Glasgow, I am quite nervous as I do not know what to expect but also excited at the same time since it could be the beginning of a huge change in my life. Thanks Bug

• Gill
    Gill

Hi bug! and welcome!

You'll find that most who post on this site are former JWs and are still recovering from the experience. But I don't want to put you off from going or finding out about the Jehovah's Witnesses. By all means go to the meetings and study but....make sure you do so with an open mind. In general they can be very nice people but you might like to find out more about them by reading some of the different sections and topics on this site such as scandals, bible teachings, history etc

They are, though they deny it, a cult and a mind control cult at that. So arm yourself with knowledge about them and you should make any decision with all the information you need at hand. Feel free to keep posting and someone will answer your questions as they come up.

A Sunday meeting comprises of a song a prayer to begin. A public talk. Another song. Then the question and answer Watchtower study and finally another song an prayer.

Be prepared to be 'love bombed' as you are a new visitor. This may last until, should you stay, just after your baptism. Then it's down to business.

Good luck!

Gill

• Leolaia
    Leolaia

Welcome, Bug! :) This is a discussion forum for all things related to Jehovah's Witnesses. Some of us are current members, some of us are ex-members. Please let us know how your visit goes today. One small question.... if you haven't studied yet, what is drawing you to the Witnesses?

• Been there
    Been there