Killing One's Ego...

by FMZ 37 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• FMZ
    FMZ

Many of the ancient mystics and their belief systems supported the idea that to truly live life, and draw close to God, each one of us has to remove his "ego". Even Jesus hinted at it.

I think today, "ego" is very often taken as meaning pride. This is but one facet of one's ego. Fear is another facet, as is self-importance.

I understand I will probably get many "detractors" in this thread, and I can see how hard it is to understand why we must shed this apparently very important shell. After all, I am still learning every day, and although I accept the theory of shedding the ego, I have still yet to learn how to practice it.

So, how does one shed his ego? Why is it necessary to shed it? And for the unbelievers, what do you feel the mystics who lived in the mountains / middle of nowhere had to gain from telling people this? Don't you feel that there must have been some experience that "showed them the way"?

FMZ

• Incense_and_Peppermints
    Incense_and_Peppermints

someone gave me these two books for christmas, by Carlos Castaneda... one of them was "Journey to Ixtlan", which talks about "self-importance".. i haven't read a lot yet, but part of it says this:

Self-importance is another thing that must be dropped, just like personal history. The world around us is very mysterious. It doesn't yield its secrets easily. Now we are concerned with losing self-importance. As long as you feel that you are the most important thing in the world you cannot really appreciate the world around you. You are like a horse with blinders, all you see is yourself apart from everything else.
    To help you lose self-importance talk to little plants. It doesn't matter what you say to a plant, what's important is the feeling of liking it, and treating it as an equal.