My Florida (sure to be Guilt) Trip

by chrissee 12 Replies latest jw friends

• chrissee
    chrissee

I am new to the forum. I've been reading mostly, but now I am compelled to post something. I guess I'll start with a little info on me.

My mom began studying with the witnesses when I was about 13, my dad didn't start studying til about 3 years later. He is now an elder in a Florida cong. I studied because I had to, being only 13 I had to go to every meeting especially when my dad started studying. Service every Saturday, like clockwork. My mom was a pioneer and urged me every day that I needed to talk at the door, which I hated. I was very shy and wasn't on the school. Most of my friends in the cong were all my age and ALL of them, except for me got baptised by the time they were all 16. And most of them led the standard double life. (Even now almost all of them have fallen away from the cong. )Good at the hall in front of elders & cong. but as soon as we all were together, we'd party and drink! When I was about 23 I met a 'wordly' man and got pregnant. We weren't even together 3 months, before we had to get married. I was still living home and moved out because I knew I was sinning with this guy. My mom told me that I wouldn't be allowed in her house if I continuted to live in sin with this man. So we married. We are still together after 12 years!! Although I did finally get baptised when I was 27. But since then I have felt the cong didn't support me or much less hang with me since I married the 'worldly man'. I wasn't allowed to help my elder father on the platform with a short presentation, because of who I married. That was utterly ridiculous in my opinion!! I haven't set foot in the KH for more than 2 years now. At first I was upset & depressed, especially when no one from the KH has contacted me in that time. No one! Not an elder or a sister or ones I thought were once friends.