No New Order?

by techton 13 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• techton
    techton

I'm a newbie here...but I remember posts about Jesus never having mentioned the prospect of eternal life on earth.......my personal theory is that as the numbers of JW's began to go past 144,000 in the mid-1930s, it was felt that an explanation had to be offered to the rank-and-file, and the idea of the "great crowd" living eternally on earth fit the bill......so much so that an explosion of numbers began because no one wanted to be left out on the prospect of eternal life in paradise.

If a business can tell people something, and it dramatically increases traffic, isn't the temptation too great? Wouldn't, in time, the benefits seem to outweigh the negatives (such as a compromise to honesty, and, in fact, wouldn't the original lie be lost to the sands of time?

My Dad (a widower, who has been in the org. for more than 50 years), grieves that not all of his family will "be together" in the New Order, as he thinks meeting attendance, service, etc. is necessary to "serve Jehovah".

I know the U.N., child abuse issues, and other scandals are important information to know about. It just seems to me that we need to go to the source of this mess, the attraction of life in the "New Order", freedom from death, etc. and get a handle on how to correct this misconception first. Or am I off base?

• Monski
    Monski

It all comes back to the real basis for religion. Have a look at most of the religions out there and you will find that their foundations are based on the desire of the important people to control or influence the underlings. DO THIS OR YOU WILL DIE seems to be the overriding teaching. Power and control is the object, nothing else. People live their lives in the constant belief that there is something better if they toe the line and, therefore waste their lives in the process. You only get one shot at life so use it to the full!

• Terry
    Terry