Elder visits after disassociating?

by davidsf 14 Replies latest jw friends

• davidsf
    davidsf

I heard that after a JW has been disfellowshipped, elders will still periodically visit the person, once a year?, to see if his situation has changed and might be interested in studying again.

My question is, what if a JW disassociated himself? Some elders I have been avoiding for 10+ years discovered where I live and tried to visit me. I didn't open the door after recognizing their voices. I sent them a formal disassociation letter and they seemed to have stopped trying to see me. Is that the end of the story or can I expect a visit next year?

thanks,

David

• shamus
    shamus

Hi David,

You can or cannot expect a visit... usually when you least expect it. They just ignorantly drop by.. you could be having dinner, cutting the lawn... entertaining real friends... they do love they're control.

They are supposed to visit once a year. Having said that, they usually do not. I have been out for aboot 7 years and they have only called on me once.

You will probably hear many similar stories like mine.

• davidsf
    davidsf

Well I'm going to be really mad if they visit because I told them in my disassociation letter to stop trying to see me. Is there anything I can do to have some "peace of mind" of not being bothered by them again? How about a police restraining order? Harassment is illegal, no?

David

• shamus
    shamus

Hey, David...

I don't have the answers that you want. What I would suggest though is to send them another letter, explain that you do not want them to ever stop by or contact you, and leave it at that. They will usually respect your wishes.

IMO, legal wranglings are a waste of time.

Some people here have had similar problems; wait for them to post. The board is pretty quiet this time of night.

• Maverick
    Maverick