Work Experience Brings Back Strange Memories ...

by Wild_Thing 39 Replies latest jw friends

• Wild_Thing
    Wild_Thing

So we all know that growing up in the organization can truly screw you up ... I am living proof. But what happened today is over the top ...

I am a school teacher. I know of this situation involving two step-brothers (9 and 10 years old) who live together. The younger one is very smart, but known to be a holy terror. The older one has learning problems, but is very sweet. Yesterday, the older one said hello to me in the hall and asked me if I had a neice. He told me that "she goes to my church."

I thought he might be mistaken, seeing how "church" is a JW taboo term. After a little questioning, it is evident that he is telling the truth. As it turns out, his dad (whom he lives with) has been studying for a year and a half. The dad's new wife (of 3 years) is opposed, so only the older boy goes to the meetings with his dad. The younger step-brother is not exposed to it at all because of the difference in opinion between the parents. It is a tradegy in the making, as it appears the dad is becoming involved with the witnesses.

At any rate, I found myself thinking maybe his younger step-brother (who is a holy terror in the classroom) should go the meetings so he would learn how to behave. I wanted to slap myself! Where was this coming from? Someone ... please slap me!

Then I remembered a story my mom likes to tell when comparing which of her children were easier to raise. She said I would never stop moving from the moment I started walking. I was into everything and always had to be doing something. Needless to say, I was a holy terror at the meetings. She told me that she would walk the parking lots with me with I was baby, with both of us crying ... her being exhausted from trying to make me sit still and be quiet. I was the third of three children and the old tricks didn't work with me ... not even spankings.