I'm new, where to start...

by Quietly Patient 13 Replies latest jw friends

• Quietly Patient
    Quietly Patient

Hi everyone, I just wanted to sorta introduce myself and ask for some help...I've been lurking here for a while, I'm a 3rd generation witness, but thankfully never got baptized as I never liked being told what to do! I've been fading for a good while now, ever since I moved out 7 years ago, only going to meetings and the memorial sporatically, of course with my mom and grandmother constantly pushing me to go back etc, etc, ETC! 3 years ago I married a non jw, and I have a son who will be 2 soon, ever since I had him I kept feeling so guilty that I wasn't "doing the right thing" by him, and that if Jehovah was going to judge him on my "works" then we both would be fried, that is such a horrible thought as a parent... Anyway, I happened to do a search about who knows what approx. a month ago, and stumbled upon here, I've been lurking and I went into chat a few days ago once I made my "final decision" as I call it. In my heart of hearts, I know I'm doing the right thing, what's best for my family and for my son, not subjecting him to the isolation and the mind numbing hours of studying and going to the hall and so on and so forth, and I've gathered so much insight reading the posts here, clearly there are LOTS of things that do not add up in the organization...and yet, I still have a voice in my head screaming "you're doing the wrong thing, you know this is the TRUTH", but yet I DON'T! If that makes any sense??? Logically it is all crap, but I've been around it for 26 years, and all that brainwashing just I guess doesn't go away, I guess I should ask does it ever go away??? I was feeling very confident about my decision but dreading telling my mom's family, at the same time I'm planning a birthday party for my son-lots of conflicting emotions. I don't know if I can even enjoy this party, part of me just feels like I just have to force myself to do it....