Political Party Loyalty

by Greenpalmtreestillmine 24 Replies latest social current

• Greenpalmtreestillmine
    Greenpalmtreestillmine

I am very new to the political process and this year will be the first time I enter a voting booth, but something has been on my mind of late and I hope you all can help me sort it out.

If George Bush had been a Democrat and from day one of his Presidency had done everything exactly as he has done would most of the Republicans be supporting the War in Iraq? Would most of the Democrats still be against the War?

Or would each party fall in line with most Republicans against the War and most Democrats for the war?

Thank you,

Sabrina

• Pork Chop
    Pork Chop

Unfortunately, most people, certainly most politicians, are in lock step with their parties. The Democrats seem a little more so than the Republicans, but not much.

• CountryGuy
    CountryGuy
    Unfortunately, most people, certainly most politicians, are in lock step with their parties. The Democrats seem a little more so than the Republicans, but not much.

I agree with Pork Chop. Maybe one day, we'll be able to get past this party loyalty thing. Like if Kerry chose McCain as his running-mate. That would cause the die-hards in both parties to pass a brick! I'd love it. I'm going to pray for that to happen.

Country

• Mulan
    Mulan
    Like if Kerry chose McCain as his running-mate.

Too bad that can't happen. What a ticket that would be!

• gitasatsangha
    gitasatsangha

Damn, KErry-McCain ticket would be terrific. Oh well, so would winning the Lottery.

• Greenpalmtreestillmine
    Greenpalmtreestillmine

I am beginning to believe that political parties do more harm than good. George Washington was I believe against political parties and maybe he was right.