F.Y.I. Elder on the Edge

by avengers 19 Replies latest watchtower child-abuse

• avengers
    avengers

I guess people are waking up.
    "I am new to this. Still "taking the lead" in my congregation with severe 

doubts ?To add to that, this publicity about the child abuse issue

(silentlambs) has me very disgusted with the society.

Let me share with you all a true, but anonymous, story:
    Recently, we went to our district conv. and the guest speaker was GB 

member Bro. Sam Heard. He was an excellent speaker, but in his keynote

final address, he made a joke about the silentlambs controversy and how

what they were doing was "the work of the devil". This comment really got

under my skin. Made me very mad, since I had done enough research by

this point, to know that this was not the truth...
    At great personal risk, after the conv. meeting ended, I confronted him in 

thecorridor. He and his wife were coming out from backstage. I told him

he had given a good talk, but I needed to get clarification on one point...

I asked him whether or not the claims of child abuse
    (It seemed like a good True/False touchstone question.)

I am pleased to say that he did not lie to me. He did not say that the claims were false, (as anyone could easily guess by the amount of people coming forward...) He said something about how "some of them had been greatly exaggerated, however". I pressed him further and expressed my concern that the "two witness rule" did not offer enough protection for our children... "that there would never be two witnesses to child abuse..." (at this point, his wife seems disgusted and walks off from us). Of course, he readily defended this rule, telling me that it was a Bible-based rule from the Hebrew Scriptures...