Was Your Growth Stunted Because You Were A Jehovah's Witness?

by minimus 34 Replies latest jw friends

• minimus
    minimus

If you were not ever a JW, how would your life have been different-----socially, materially, educationally, sexually, emotionally, mentally....etc.???

• blondie
    blondie

Stunted by the WTS, not as much as growing up with an abusive non-JW father. Blondie

• minimus
    minimus

Blondie, do you think growing up with an abusive parent makes it easier to become a JW?

• Enishi
    Enishi

I would say yes, my social skills and progress in college has been stunted due to the WTS. However, I'm gradually rectifying the problem.

• Amazing
    Amazing

My basic growth and education would be about the same. I was an electrical-mechanical engineer for 25 years, holding good positions and a promising career. I encouraged my children to attend college anyway. I raised my family to be close and have good communication, so that in the end they all listened and decided to leave the JWs.

What would have been different is that I would have taken some promotions offered in executive management at Bechtel Corporation. I would have spent more time having fun with my family instead of being out door-to-door or at JW meetings. I would have early on encouraged my children to participate in school events and programs. As we neared the end of our days as JWs, I did allow them to get into school plays, sports, and Proms ... but, they would have enjoyed more of this sooner. I too would have had more non-JW friends and would have retained closer friendships with non-JWs I grew up with. And I would not be missing the good JW friends I did make, but who now shun me.

I and my family are among the lucky in that the long term overall impact of the JW life will not be all that bad ... yes there are things to work out and deal with ... but I thank Gawd that it was not any worse. But stunted? Not really.

Jim Whitney

• minimus
    minimus