Are there 'ultra strict' congregations?

by jambon1 34 Replies latest jw friends

• jambon1
    jambon1

When I studied as a young adult, it was in one of those congregations.

Having viewed the religion as a quaint little band of christians it conpletely dumbfounded me when I was told about such rules as 1 - no beards. 2 - you MUST wear a suit to meetings and while giving a talk. I just didn't understand such an invasion on personal choice. To my shame I conformed. I wish I'd told them to ram it up their arse.

Our hall was absolutely famous in the area for an elder implemented rule that forbade a brother giving a talk while wearing a mis-matching jacket and trousers. Also, they had a white shirt in the cloak room for any visiting elders who showed up to give a public talk wearing a coloured shirt.

Needless to say, the place was filled with rampant hypocrisy, favouritism and nepotism among the elders and their families.

I moved from there to a more 'wishy-washy' congregation shortly after joining the religion

Madness.

• Simon
    Simon
    they had a white shirt in the cloak room for any visiting elders who showed up to give a public talk wearing a coloured shirt

That in itself shows up that it's a local rule and therefore invalid. If it was legitimate, then it would be the rule that everyone knew about and that all congregations in the circuit / district adhered to as the standard to follow.

And to make it into a forced "change your shirt to THIS one" makes it clear that it was some elder's personal power-trip, his chance to lord it over everyone. Which means he probably spent his day job sweeping up crap and being told what to do.

• joe134cd
    joe134cd