Did You Ever Feel Refreshed As A Jehovah's Witness???

by minimus 27 Replies latest jw friends

• minimus
    minimus

The "truth" is supposed to be sooo "refreshing". The publications talk about how "happy and refreshed" Witnesses always are. Was that your experience? Do you recall ever really feeling "refreshed"?

• czarofmischief
    czarofmischief

I used to have spiritual experiences on my own, out in the woods or something, that helped me feel redeemed and special. I don't think that anything in the borg was ever refreshing, although I've had some experiences where I felt appreciated and loved - they were fairly refreshing and redemptive.

But they were just drops of water to someone dying of thirst - nice, but essentially useless because they weren't enough. I had emotional needs that the borg wouldn't fill. needs like creative expression, sexual intimacy, beer...

CZAR

• freedom96
    freedom96

I felt worn and tired as a witness. And during most of that, I was a kid!

• Elsewhere
    Elsewhere

Never.

Anytime I had to do something JW related I felt tired and sluggish and ended up feeling depressed.

• Sassy
    Sassy

I guess there were times when you talked to someone about the bible and they were all excited to learn. We thought we were doing the right thing and I love people so if we were able to give them something that made them happy to learn about, I guess it was a happy refreshing feeling.

I'm glad now most of them didn't end up wanting more though.. now that I know what we were teaching wasn't necessarily the road to God.

• Special K
    Special K

Now that your asking mimimus..

No.. I can't say that I did, as I look back on it all.

Always felt.. PUSHED and PULLED. The never did enough feeling.

My husband and I just went to watch our 8 year old play a hockey game. All those kids playing hockey and all us parents cheering.....

Just got home and I feel refreshed, happy contented, life's wonderful kind of feeling.