Interview with Giordano an Apostate

by Giordano 12 Replies latest jw experiences

• Giordano
    Giordano

Tell us a little about yourself and your family.

My Mother introduced me to her JW world when I was 12. I had to attend the weekly book study....boring!!!! Plus the Disney TV show was on Tuesday EVE 8 to 9 and once a month they did a space show......no matter how hard I tried couldn’t get out of that BK study.

Are your parents / family JWs?

Not at that time eventually my Mom was baptized...... I followed at age 16 and 1.2 . Dad had no interest in the Catholic Church and definitely no interest in becoming a JW. His disinterest would serve me well in years to come.

Did you hold any position in the WTS? (MS, Elder etc...)

Yes a pioneer after I graduated HS, then a year later I pioneered where the need was great. The little congregation I served in appointed me assistant presiding minister, The Kingdom Ministry school servant and for a while the Bible study servant. Those would be three Elder’s position's today. Man serving where the need was great was a blast........ it was a whole different JW world. I also gave my 1 hour talk 32 times my fist year. It was on Juvenile Delinquency and the Bible. I am not sure how the bible tied into this but somehow I made it work. It and I became well known in the circuit. I had to drive to these distant congregations. And if the talk went well my ego would compliment me on my drive back. When I met my wife to be I managed to get my feet back on planet earth and started to grow up.

Did you *really* believe in the bible, in spirits (angels, demons)?

Not really I was more involved with the people in the congregation. In later years I realized I was a Secular Humanist.

What was the initial trigger that made you start questioning things?