Elder asking for help

by untruth 50 Replies latest jw experiences

• untruth
    untruth

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on here so I’m not sure where to start. I’m trying to keep it as short as possible since I could expand much more. I’ve been in the process of waking up in the last year and a half. I have been an elder for the last 20+ years, having been appointed at a young age. In addition to that I served as a regular pioneer. My wife and I never had children so that we could put the kingdom first. We sacrificed a lot. As a result of the zeal I displayed I have had and still have many “privileges” in the organization. I mention all these things not to boast about accomplishments that are worth nothing but to demonstrate how indoctrinated I was and pretty much believed everything the organization taught.

It’s been tough to realize how misguided I was, even though I’ve always had lingering doubts, but I kept trusting that the organization knew best. Well the time came when I couldn’t keep pushing those doubts to the back of my mind. So I started doing research with the thought that if the witnesses have the truth then why should the organization be afraid of us making sure of all things. The truth should be able to withstand anything that’s thrown at it. Truth is truth. Never did I imagine I would come to find out that most everything I had been taught was false! One of my first thoughts was that I’ve wasted all these years for nothing! I really wonder how many elders are in a situation similar to mine.