JW's and Retirement Planning

by JaNayNee 17 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• JaNayNee
    JaNayNee

My mother is a JW. I studied for several years and ultimately could not digest what was being served. For the last 20 years my mother has done nothing to prepare for retirement. The Organization and local congregations discourage this and market it as a "lack of faith" though many wealthier members actively save large quantities of money and are not shamed for it.

Over the years my Mother has told us that her spiritual family is more important to her than her biological family, because we don't believe and will not be here in the "new system"-however, when my Mom had her heart attack, it wasn't the spiritual family who spent countless hours, around the clock, caring for her. Nor does her spiritual family help her pay the bills, and I doubt they will be taking care of her in retirement. She will be relying on her biological family to support her financially in the coming years- the same one she and her congregation shame and shun for having a different belief system.

To the leaders of this religion and local congregations, it is irresponsible to make promises that "the end is coming" before someone will need retirement income- when the bible clearly states (if this is your unit of measure) that NO ONE KNOWS WHEN THE END WILL COME. No one. It doesn't say "NO ONE, except the governing body, KNOWS WHEN THE END WILL COME. So, IF you are still a believer in the old book, you have a responsibility to take care of yourself and your retirement so that it doesn't fall to your children- whom you have neglected and emotionally damaged, in favor of your "Spiritual Family." The Watch Tower Society and governing body should be ashamed and should be taking financially responsibility for the welfare of its aging members- or stop teaching such damaging practices.