Are dubs allowed to.....?

by SpiceItUp 12 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• SpiceItUp
    SpiceItUp

If a JW manages to get further education (or did before conversion) and say become a professional such as a doctor.....are they allowed to perform blood transfusions?

• Ravyn
    Ravyn

not unless they are under contract to---as in working for an HMO or hospital and then it is considered 'line of duty'---however I knew doctors and nurses who basically were hounded until they quit their jobs about blood transfusions and abortions. If it is at all a matter of choice for the doctor(even contracts AFTER they became JWs), JWs expect you to refuse even if it means your livelihood. Same with police who carry a gun. I even knew firemen who were eventually forced to quit. I was an EMT for 6 years and I was grilled about it the whole time. I was even investigated by a committee once when the company I worked for contracted to provide First Aid for a religious Revival and I had to work it. I knew city and county workers who were also given hard times for their indirect political connections due to their jobs. This was all in southern California.

Ravyn

• NeonMadman
    NeonMadman

I seem to remember an article a long time ago that said that a JW who was a doctor could order blood for people who were not JW's, if his conscience permitted it. They based their reasoning on the scripture in the Law that said that an Israelite could not eat an animal that had been strangled, but could sell it to a Gentile.

However, I just did a search of the WT Library CD trying to find the article, and couldn't find it.

• blondie
    blondie

NeonMadman,

I found it here (search doctor deut 14:21)

w64 11/15 pp. 682-683 Employment and Your Conscience ***