eating meat

by wonderer2003 13 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• wonderer2003
    wonderer2003

Hi everybody

I am a newbie here and have just found this site after a some JW sisters came a visiting to my door.

I was listening intently to what they were saying, and asked a question about cruelty in this world, the subject got around to animals and they said that animals did not eat each other until after the flood.

And animals did not turn against man until they started to be cruel to them, which was again after the flood. This seems to me to be so ludicrous, please can you tell me if anyone has heard of this before?

• shera
    shera

Hello and welcome,

Yes, I have heard this before but I can't remeber why and where they get these teachings from,sorry.I would like to see answers to this as well.

Heather

• Swan
    Swan

Welcome Wonderer!

It does seem to be far fetched. Whether you believe in evolution or creation, the idea that lions (with short digestive tracts and sharp teeth that are optimal for tearing and shredding meat) only ate grass, like herbivores (with multiple stomachs, long digestive tracts, and flat teeth for munching vegetation) just 4500 years ago, is rather hard to believe. And what did mosquitoes, fleas, and other blood sucking parasites eat? I have never seen this fully explained in any of the JW literature. I was born and raised in this faith for 35 years. It was this and other inconsistancies that led me to leave this faith.

Tammy

• wonderer2003
    wonderer2003

Thankyou both for your for replying. They did say that the animals did eat meat but only from animals that were were already dead. So I was just thinking, were there not - and is there not - obvious animals that were built to kill? For instance the sabre toothed tiger would probably find it difficult to eat food with such long teeth, so they presumably were used to kill there prey. Just a thought.

• Nathan Natas
    Nathan Natas