new here

by jurs 17 Replies latest jw experiences

• jurs
    jurs

Hi! I've been a witness for 6 years. When a sweet pioneer sister came to my door and I started studying I never thought I would become a witness. 21/2 years of studying I did get baptized. I thought it was the "truth". In fact I never doubted. I never went to "apostate sites". Our household was a divided one, my husband was an unbeliever but not opposed. This last year I've missed alot of meetings and I found that I didn't want to go but then I'd feel guilty and go to meetings based on guilt and fear of not having everlasting life. Very rercently I started questioning myself. For example I never felt comfortable with filling out my "time" for field service. Why do I have to wear a dress? What is so bad about Thanksgiving? I feel loaded down with rules. My two daughter always ask Can I do this? And I say no but in my heart I don't really see anything wrong with playing basketball or gymnastics. Today was the first time I've looked into the forbidden web sites. I felt ill when I read "gray areas" I heard about smurfs, trolls running down kingdom halls but I thought it was just one weird sister. I heard about garage sales, again i dismissed it as a strange sister. I do believe now that the "truth if it really is the truth should be able to to stand up against what others say. I don't think I can ever go back to a kingdom hall again. I feel like I was brain washed and Just 2 weeks ago I felt so differently. It feels good having a plkace to express how I feel to people who understand....JURS

• waiting
    waiting

Hello - and welcome - jurs,

I do believe now that the "truth if it really is the truth should be able to to stand up against what others say