Has God broken the Sabbath?

by joey jojo 10 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• joey jojo
    joey jojo

In the early 80's, I remember a district convention drama that featured the story of the guy that was stoned to death for gathering sticks on the sabbath. I thought it was kind of harsh because it wasn't like the guy was doing any real work like building anything, or plowing a field.

If we accept that God is perfect, then surely he would set the example of keeping the sabbath in a perfect way. The word Sabbath means inactivity as far as I can tell and this leads me to ask a question about things God has done during his rest day that seem like work to me.

How do we explain away God making it rain? Apparently, God had to make it rain to cause the world to flood because the mechanism wasn't there.

What about the sun standing still? I'm no scientist but I would think that the only way to make that happen would be to cause the Sun to suddenly revolve the Earth. If God simply stopped the earth from spinning, everything on the earth would be flung eastwards at 1600 km/ hr.

Manna that fell from the sky. This must qualify as an act of creation? Food falling from the sky was something that had never happened before and hasn't happened since. It was a new creation.

God made clothes for Adam and Eve.

He parted the Red Sea.

He raised his son from the dead.

I could go on but hopefully you can see where Im coming from.

All of these things seem like the opposite of inactivity to me.

• smiddy3
    smiddy3

GOD : Do what I say , because YOU have no right to question what I do. I am GOD.

I think that about sums it up . You could also substitute GOD with the GB .

Edit to add, didn`t Jesus find reasons to break the sabbath with no repercussions ?

• Diogenesister
    Diogenesister