10 Years On...

by done4good 21 Replies latest jw friends

• done4good
    done4good

Just a note that 10 years ago, (Christmas day, 2005), was my last time inside a KH. A lot has taken place for the better in those 10 years:

1. Met the love of my life and happily married for 9 years, two days ago.

2. Completed a master's degree.

3. Work at senior management level in the IT field.

4. Have a savings and retirement, and no debt outside of a mortgage and 1 car loan.

5. Lots of travel to several places that I never would have done as a JW.

6. Contribute to what I believe are meaningful causes.

7. Read, think, and meditate for myself.

8. Have a great extended family I inherited from my wife.

9. Lots of other great stuff, too much to list.

None of this is intended to be boastful. It is merely a reflection of the positive things in life, and a lesson for any newbie here that life post-WT is worth living, and will only get better for you, if you take advantage of it.

I am going to take a bit of a hiatus from here for a while, since I think 10 years is a good amount of time to have taken advantage of this type of therapy, and benefit from it. Diminishing returns do come into play, and I need to free myself from what can be an addictive pastime.

Thank you all for being here...

Jason

• Magnum
    Magnum

Wow! I wish I had figured it out as soon as you did. Looks like you're really doing well. Good for you.

I hate it that you're going to take a hiatus now [subliminal message: "stay another year"]. I guess I'm being selfish. I think the next year is going to be interesting as we observe what happens with the org financially, whether it sells more KHs and disbands more congregations, whether the numbers start to go down, etc. I'd love to have you around for your thoughts and analysis [subliminal message: "stay another year"].