Knocking on schoolmates doors

by BettyHumpter 10 Replies latest jw friends

• BettyHumpter
    BettyHumpter

I left the JW's shortly after I graduated High School. But when I was still at home i'd get dragged into door to door every saturday morning without fail unless it was pissing rain.

I can remember always being anxious to know what territory my group was assigned. I remember some Saturdays i'd look at it and think Oh Crap, I have tons of schoolmates in that neighborhood. I had several strategies. The first was to try to find another group that perhaps had a rural territory where I was unlikely to run into anyone and ask my parents if I could accompany that group instead, "to get to know them better".

If that failed, I spent the ministry doing calculations in my head. Trying to figure when I would volunteer to get outta the car so that the rotation had the lowest chance of it being my turn when we got to someones house I knew.

The worst were when we would enter a subdivision and walk around on foot. In that case if we were approaching a classmates door, my hail mary was to say "you take that one and i'll take the one next door, we'll get more done that way".

If the person I was with declined, I just hoped no one answered the door.

• BettyHumpter
    BettyHumpter

Another thing I remember...in my days in school, the Pledge of Allegiance wasn't done, so it was never an issue like in the 1950's or whenever they used to do that. Well, it wasn't done until the fall of 1990, that is. My junior year in High School. Iraq invaded Kuwait, we sent 500,000 soldiers over and suddenly the pledge was back every morning in homeroom. Thanks alot Saddam.

I think I sorta put a hand near my heart and half heartedly said the words. I didn't believe the religion at that point, I was just biding my time in that respect, I just thought the whole pledge thing was dumb. But I also didn't want to make a spectacle of myself.

• Sea Breeze
    Sea Breeze