Newly Free, Need Advice

by HappyBlessedFree 17 Replies latest jw experiences

• HappyBlessedFree
    HappyBlessedFree

Hello,

I stopped attending meetings about three months ago. After researching everything I could find on Jehovahs Witnesses (which is a lot) I can happily say I am awake and free. I was a baptized witness for over 25 year. I was raised as a Catholic and after dating someone who was raised as a witness I started studying and after studying for 3 years was baptized at 21 years old.

It has been such a hard journey. I would describe it as having my insides ripped out (sorry for being graphic). I'm sure many of you can relate. My husband is at a strange point in his journey. I would say for the last ten years I have been the one dragging him to meetings and out in service. Now that I stopped going, he has too, which I thought would start his process of waking up, but it hasn't. Although he hasn't gone to a meeting for three month, and we have had many many conversations about everything from all the failed end of days dates to the pedophile lawsuits. Basically everything on Jwfacts he still said a few days ago that I have allowed myself to be mislead.

He was also not raised as a witness and has been baptized over 25 years. We have been married 17 years. I am trying to improve out marriage just because I want to but also because I want to help him wake up. None of his family are witnesses and I have asked him questions like "Are you okay with Jehovah killing your Mom and sister etc at Armaggedon? I have tried to show him the lies about 1914 and what old watchtowers said about it compared to what the GB says about it today. He has an excuse for everything I show him. I almost said "then how come you aren't going to meetings then". But I didn't ! I am reading Steve Hassans book and I understand about cognitive dissonance. So will it just take time? Anyone have suggestions on what else to ask him?