Is Wokeness a Religion

by JeffT 12 Replies latest jw friends

• JeffT
    JeffT

This is long so I'll just post a link, I think many here will agree with a lot of what the author has to say. It certainly resonated with my thinking of the last few years.

https://instapundit.substack.com/p/it-should-be-safe-to-be-unpopular?sd=pf

• LoveUniHateExams
    LoveUniHateExams

Is Wokeness a religion? - yeah, kinda.

At the very least it's filled the religion-shaped hole in The West. Nature abhors a vacuum, and all that.

Perhaps one way of trying to answer your question would be to compare the behaviour of religious zealots with that of woke nutters.

And they're actually quite similar, although the woke nutters have killed far fewer people.

Will read the link now.

• LoveUniHateExams
    LoveUniHateExams

Yes, I've read the article. The author makes some good points.

Myself, I have some experience of being targeted by woke people on-line, although nothing too serious so far. The worst case was a guy who at first tried to dox me, then contacted my old university. All because I was posting opinions which didn't align 100% with trans ideology.

Yes, woke warriors are very quick to other you if you post an opinion with which they disagree.

• Simon
    Simon

It's completely irrational beliefs with cult-like behaviors and group-think.

It's exactly a religion, and one of the most damaging ones around - the woke nutters are currently mutilating children, the ones that they actually allow to be born in the first place.

• Sea Breeze
    Sea Breeze

In the wake of rejecting Judeo-Christian values and morality, Wokeness has filled the void and is now the new standard in determinnig what is moral and what is not moral. If you don't go along with it, you are simply cancelled (disfellowshipped).

Population reduction comes a little later.

Newsweek Article: America Is Fast Becoming a Woke Theocracy

• ThomasCovenant
    ThomasCovenant