Ok, for all of you who use word and excel, I need your help

by Jesika 20 Replies latest jw friends

• Jesika
    Jesika

I went to a temp agency today, and I failed word and excel testing. The woman said if I get my computer skills up she could find me a job alot sooner.

My boyfriend has been teaching me, he works with computers at his job. Thing is, he uses it for finding bugs in computer games.

What I want to know is, in office work, what do you use the most? Like what functions should I focus on?

I have never used word or excel, but I am learning a little. I had my first session just minutes ago. There are sooooooooooo many functions, I would like to know from those of you who use it on a daily basis at work, what should I learn REALLY well?

I really need an ABC 123 explaination here. I am not very computer savy at all. I am still learning the functions in email .

So, when you tell me what you use, can you also tell me why you use it?

Thanx in advance!

Jes

• Nomad Soul
    Nomad Soul

Buying a book will help. It cannot be explained, only practice will help you. Buy the office package, like PowerPoint, Word, etc...... Play around with it, read the book that comes with it. :)

• Simon
    Simon

Word and Excel ... why I use them? They are the de-facto standard in Word Processing and Spreadsheet.

I don't think it's possible to tell you which bits to learn ... everyone only uses 20% of the functionality but it's a different 20% !

The best thing to do is spend a while working through them with a decent book or CBT.

• onacruse
    onacruse

I have 2 manuals, 600 pages each, for Word and Excel, that I'd be glad to send you for a mere $99.99 each (excluding shipping and handling).

For Excel, I really like the Auto-Filter function, as well as the Chart Wizard.

For Word, I really like that I can finally get rid of that pesky little Paper-Clip idiot. LOL

Craig

• Thomas Poole
    Thomas Poole