Basic JW Doctrine

by crolson 18 Replies latest jw friends

• crolson
    crolson

Hi, I am not a JW, but I am a student studying the Jehovah's Witnesses. I was wondering if a JW could answer a few questions for me about your doctrine?

• What is your God (Jehovah) like?
    • Where does your teaching come from (which writings)?
    • Who is Jesus? Is he God or man or both? Did he save us from our sins?
    • What does it mean to have salvation?
    • Who or what is the Holy Spirit? What is his function?
    • What happens after death? (both for faithful JWs and for those who don't believe)
    • What is sin? What can we do about it?

Thanks so much for your help!

• TTWSYF
    TTWSYF
    to find these answers you would need the latest watchtower magazines. Be sure that you have the latest watchtowers as the answers to those questions may change according to the brighter understanding of the Jehovah's witness interpretations of the catholic book aka the bible
  • MadGiant
    MadGiant

* What is your God (Jehovah) like?
    Imaginary, like all mythology-historical deities.

• Warren Wilson
    Warren Wilson
    He is a homicidal maniac.
  • kaik
    kaik

Crolson, welcome on JWN board. Most of us here are ex-JWs who left organization recently or long time ago like myself 21 years ago. There is no universal consensus of JW doctrines and beliefs because they change all the time. The WT is not the same organization I grew up in in the 70's-90's, so what we studied and believed 25-35 years ago is no more relevant today in WT world. So whatever you miss on any doctrine, JWs are not afraid the loss of the knowledge, because a new doctrine will arrive shortly. I can only answer some of the questions that I remember from my WT life back then. There are probably others who can answer you better.

• What is your God (Jehovah) like?: Creator a life giver and the only One who was always present